FREE! Glice Skating Rink in Blackpool

Ice Skater

Ever fancied a bit of Blackpool Glice skating? Well, the New and Free Glice skating rink is just for you. As the vast 40 metres long rink stars as one of the main attractions of the Christmas by The Sea Event.

The rink is accessible, for free, to residents and visitors of Blackpool. Although All Ages can use the rink, it is advised that new skaters take a friend for support; but under 14’s need to be accompanied by an adult. Also, it would be best if you took full advantage to try Ice Skating for the first time, as they offer a free skate hire service.

You can make it the perfect opportunity to spend time with friends and family, especially during the festive season. So, Bring your friends as the Blackpool Glice Rink can host up to 60 skaters!

Glice Skater Blackpool

Finally, each skaters session lasts for 40 minutes, plus 10 minutes before to change into skates and 10 minutes after to change out. Also, there are designated changing facilities and skate aids available. So, check the times of the sessions listed below.

Glice Rink Sessions TimeTable

DateOpen Hours
Monday 22 Nov (22/11/2021)CLOSED
Tuesday 23 Nov (23/11/2021)CLOSED
Wednesday 24 Nov (24/11/2021)CLOSED
Thursday 25 Nov (25/11/2021)5pm – 8pm (17:00 – 20:00)
Friday 26 Nov (26/11/2021)Weather Closure
Saturday 27 Nov (27/11/2021)Weather Closure
Sunday 28 Nov (28/11/2021) Hanukkah Start5pm – 8pm (17:00 – 20:00)
Monday 29 Nov (29/11/2021)CLOSED
Tuesday 30 Nov (30/11/2021)CLOSED
Wednesday 1 Dec (01/12/2021)CLOSED
Thursday 2 Dec (02/12/2021)5pm – 8pm (17:00 – 20:00)
Friday 3 Dec (03/12/2021)5pm – 9pm (17:00 – 21:00)
Saturday 4 Dec (04/12/2021)12pm – 9pm (12:00 – 21:00)
Sunday 5 Dec (05/12/2021)12pm – 6pm (12:00 – 18:00)
Monday 6 Dec (06/12/2021) Hanukkah EndsCLOSED
Tuesday 7 Dec (07/12/2021)CLOSED
Wednesday 8 Dec (08/12/2021)CLOSED
Thursday 9 Dec (09/12/2021)5pm – 8pm (17:00 – 20:00)
Friday 10 Dec (10/12/2021)5pm – 9pm (17:00 – 21:00)
Saturday 11 Dec (11/12/2021)12pm – 9pm (12:00 – 21:00)
Sunday 12 Dec (12/12/2021)12pm – 6pm (12:00 – 18:00)
Monday 13 Dec (13/12/2021)CLOSED
Tuesday 14 Dec (14/12/2021)CLOSED
Wednesday 15 Dec (15/12/2021)CLOSED
Thursday 16 Dec (16/12/2021)5pm – 9pm (17:00 – 21:00)
Friday 17 Dec (17/12/2021)12pm – 9pm (12:00 – 21:00)
Saturday 18 Dec (18/12/2021)2pm – 9pm (12:00 – 21:00)
Sunday 19 Dec (19/12/2021)12pm – 8pm (12:00 – 20:00)
Monday 20 Dec (20/12/2021)12pm – 8pm (12:00 – 20:00)
Tuesday 21 Dec (21/12/2021)12pm – 8pm (12:00 – 20:00)
Wednesday 22 Dec (22/12/2021)12pm – 8pm (12:00 – 20:00)
Thursday 23 Dec (23/12/2021)12pm – 8pm (12:00 – 20:00)
Friday 24 Dec (24/12/2021) Christmas Eve12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Saturday 25 Dec (25/12/2021) Christmas DayCLOSED
Sunday 26 Dec (26/12/2021) Kwanzaa Start / Boxing Day12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Monday 27 Dec (27/12/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Tuesday 28 Dec (28/12/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Wednesday 29 Dec (29/12/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Thursday 30 Dec (30/12/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Friday 31 Dec (31/12/2021) Ōmisoka / New Years Eve12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Saturday 1 Jan (01/01/2022) Kwanzaa End / New Years Day12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Sunday 2 Jan (02/01/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)
Monday 3 Jan (03/01/2021)12pm – 5pm (12:00 – 17:00)

Blackpool Glice Skating FAQ

Where is the Blackpool Ice / Glice Skating Rink?

The rinks location is along the promenade near the Blackpool Tower.

Can I Hire Skates?

Yes, There is Free Skates Hire available.

Can I Take my Own Skates?

No, As they would prefer you to take advantage of the Free Skate Hire.

What Is Glice?

Glice is a New Generation Synthetic Ice. Swiss engineered to be Self-Lubricating and have NO water or energy costs.

Can I Use my Speed Skates?

No, these types of skates are not allowed by the organiser.

Is It All Free?

Yes, you can hire free skates and use the rink for 40 minutes, excluding changing times.

Can I Store My Bag?

Some Storage is provided, but any possessions are left at your own risk.

Are Skate Aids Available?

Skate Aids are limited on a first-come, first-serve basis.

What To Wear?

The rink has some essential wind protection, so dress comfortably and warm. Make sure to bring some gloves, if you can.

Can I Access Using A Wheelchair?

Yes!

Got a Question or Feedback? Get In Touch!

Feedback Question E-Mail